1. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice

Avoid certain months to take DAT's?

Discussion in 'DAT Discussions' started by jedistar78, Apr 20, 2007.

1. jedistar78

Dental Student
    Is there even such a thing? I heard from friends to avoid certain months when there is a huge influx of students taking the DAT's. Is this true? :eek: :eek:

I'm planning for mid-June. I hope this is okay?

Also, I finished my undergraduate degree 5 years ago...but never took physics. I'm thinking about taking courses this summer and next summer...but was hoping to get into D-school 2008 fall. Is it possible to take prerequisite courses the summer before entering Dental school?

Thanks a million for your help.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Drill2Fill

Drill2Fill DentalStudentWannabe

Pre-Dental
    The only thing I could think of is that there are more students taking tests at the prometric centers in the summer so you might not have as many choices on when to take the test.

4. toothfairy85

toothfairy85 Guest

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    I took my DAT mid-June but ended up driving to Austin because the dates I was looking at were booked at both testing centers in San Antonio. If you know that's when you want to take it, I suggest setting a date pretty soon. You can always change it 48 hours in advance if you don't feel you are ready.

As far as completing prerequisites the summer before you matriculate, you will want to check with the schools you are applying to. I know there are several schools who want all prereq coursework completed before June 1st of the year you plan to start. Also, keep in mind that some schools start in June and July.

5. doc toothache

Dentist
    You need to stop listening to your "well informed" friends.

6. diane07

Pre-Dental