1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

"Awkward with patients"

Discussion in 'General Residency Issues' started by Nerdoscience, Jul 25, 2006.

1. Nerdoscience

Nerdoscience Senior Member
    2+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    So, I'm an intern now, and I'm pretty comfortable with my H+P taking skills, and love talking with (most) patients. But I really clam up in front of my attendings and even my residents and fellows. I had this problem big time in med school, and am kind of forcing my way through it, but I really thought I would "Figure it out" eventually.

The result is that I have patients telling my attendings that I am the best (medical student/intern) they have ever had, but also getting evaluations that say my communication or personal skills are lacking.

Anyone else in that boat, and any advice?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. goooooober

goooooober Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Not really.

4. jeff2005

jeff2005 Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

I had that problem in med school. I was comfortable one on one with patients but hated being put on the spot on rounds. With more experience will come confidence and then this won't be an issue anymore. In any case, you have good people schools with the people that really matter - the patients.

5. Winged Scapula

Winged Scapula Cougariffic!
    Staff Member Administrator Physician Faculty Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 15+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    I have not had that problem, although admittedly my mind goes blank when I am pimped, or put on the spot.

Being at ease in many different situations requires practice and occasionally a bit of Propranolol. ;)