AZCOM student responds to Arizona article about medical schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sense

Sensible User
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
There was a recent article in the Arizona Republic about whether Arizona needed a new medical school. I remember the article was posted by Robz in an AZCOM thread on this forum. There was a small swipe against the DO school there and this AZCOM student decided to write his opinion on the subject. It was in the opinion portion of the Arizona Republic.

http://www.azcentral.com/arizonarepublic/opinions/articles/0626satlet3-261.html

Article's dismissal of osteopathy is unfair
Jun. 26, 2004 12:00 AM

Regarding the Business-section article about bringing another medical school to the Valley ("A Phoenix med school?" Monday):

I am a third-year medical student at Midwestern University-Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine, one of the osteopathic medical schools that was cast aside in your article.

Though I cannot claim to speak for my medical school, I can speak for myself. I hate continually being overlooked as a future medical professional because I don't go to a "traditional" medical school (which really raises the question of "traditional" - seeing as how naturopaths were the original field of medicine - but that's a discussion for another day).

I'm not a chiropractor or an expert in herbs and vitamins. However, I am a medical student who has worked her tail off for two years to learn anatomy, biochem, pharmacology, pathology and how to read an EKG.