B+ in intro to chem

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

amherstguy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
is a B+ in intro to chem bad, i mean will med schools look down upon it. i feel that if i cant get an A in an intro class, how will i get an A in the other premed classes.
please help

Members don't see this ad.

Hi! I'm in a similiar situation. I'm taking Chem 121 (general chem, a med requirement) and I think I'm going to get a B. It's my first quarter of college though so I'm trying to rationalize it by the "adjusting to college" mentality. Which is very valid! I'm not one to advise anyone since I'm just a freshman, but I think a B would be ok your freshmen year, especially so early in it, and especially if I would get A's in Chem 122, 123 and the organic series. Am I right?

Chemistry was concocted by the devil!!!:mad:
I would probably say that the adcoms will not look at the intro class, just as long as you do well in the required ones. I would just try as hard as you can! Read ahead before class and do problem after problem AFTER PROBLEM to better prepare yourself for the tests. You never know, you might surprise yourself!!
Good luck! :)

Members don't see this ad :)
first of all, one B+ (or B for that matter) is not going to wreck your chances for med school, particularly in your freshman year. in my experience, many of the lower division pre-med courses are actually more difficult to ace than upper division. its due to the fact that many of these classes are "weeders" with so many die-hard pre-meds in them. the material also often seems more dense just because you have had so little exposure to it. so, try not to worry too much. all you can do is do your best, and particularly if everything is curved it is difficult to predict your grade until you actually receive it. good luck.

Reactions: 1 user