Becoming Competitive with a Low Step 1 Score

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lovelearning

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm an M3 who just got his Step 1 score back. I was predicted at 229 but ended up significantly underperforming that on test day and got a 202. Still, I'm happy to be past that hurdle. It's still early in the M3 year, but my two biggest interests going into the year are psych and IM. I'm wondering how realistic my hopes are of matching into a psych residency (or IM if any of you have experience with that). I've seen the recent Charting the Outcomes data and know that the percentage of applicants matching into psych has decreased, but the average scores are still not super high (although higher than mine), so I wonder how much of that is not applying broadly enough given the increase in competitiveness. I'm a nontraditional student at a mid/low tier US allopathic school in the Midwest and previously lived on the West Coast (both my family and spouse's are still there) but I'm VERY flexible geographically. Are lower tier academic programs mostly going to screen me out even if I worked hard to do much better on 2 CK? Besides doing better on Step 2, honoring whatever rotations I can, and getting good evals, any thoughts on things I can do to best set myself up for success?

Also, does non-psych research matter at all to most programs? I'm doing some heme/onc retrospective research and have two first-author poster presentations at national conferences (plus one regional one as a second author) and hopefully a first-author publication (started writing that but put it on hold for Step 1).

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: