Best dissecting kits/equipment

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LSUVetGirl10

LSU SVM C/O 2015!
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a first year vet student at LSU, and we need to get dissecting kits for anatomy. We can buy them through the school but they are the cheapest kits they can find. I was looking to get a nicer kit for my birthday that will last me for several years. Does anyone know of a supplier or specific brands so that I can shop around? I'm not even sure what types of instruments I'll need if I wanted to buy them individually.

Help, please!

-Janet

Members don't see this ad.

The dissection kit that the bookstore provides cover almost all of your bases.

One thing that they do not include in the kit is a sharpened probe, which is almost essential when trying to find the nerves in the tissues.

The rat-tooth forceps they provide are good for small arteries, veins, and nerves, but I wanted a pair of forceps with a broad jaw. I think it was the russian forceps that I wanted.

It was convenient to have the scalpel that they provided so that I could just drop by the bookstore when I needed more blades, but a larger scalpel could have been useful for second semester when we were dealing with large animals and large incisions.

I'm not sure about brands or suppliers, but these are the extra stuff that I would want to get.

Congrats on being accepted by the way. See you this fall.

One thing that they do not include in the kit is a sharpened probe, which is almost essential when trying to find the nerves in the tissues.

I thought the professors sharpened our probes in anatomy during the year... for those who wanted one?

Members don't see this ad :)