Best Journal to Learn for clinical psychiatry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hopefulscribe2

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello there,

Just wanted to ask what journal for clinical psychiatry would be most helpful to stay up to date! I am a resident but is always wanting to learn more!

Members don't see this ad.

Perhaps FOCUS? JAMA Psych and Am J Psych are all good too.

Reactions: 1 user
I hate saying it and I don't know if it's still even being published but the Carlat Report IMHO is very clinically relevant. Reason why is I've seen Carlat state some things that I found utter nonsense, such as wanting psychologists to prescribe psychotropic meds, not a limited set, but all of them without physician supervision. This happened over 10 years ago and he responded on the forum. Now he didn't exactly say what I wrote, but he strongly endorsed the Oregon law where exactly what I wrote was pushed, despite admitting to not having reviewed the law himself.

Then when confronted about it he admitted he didn't review the law, but then connected A to B to G without plotting C, D, E, or F citing that if psychologists could prescribe, even under questionable circumstances, it would force psychiatrists to provide better psychotherapy, without having any data to back it up, and that this hasn't been demonstrated in any of the states where psychologist prescribing was allowed. As written in an interview with Psychology Today.

He also cited a military study to back his argument despite that this same article had physician supervision of psychologists and even stated it was not enough data to safely say psychologists could prescribe in the community.

While one could argue that Psychology Today may have taken him out-of-context, he is an editor in that same publication.