Best MD/PhD Programs for Heart Research?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

collinsc

Aspiring Peds CV Surgeon
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone!

I'm somewhat of a newbie here, but I figured I'd give this a shot.

I know there are a lot of neuro and cancer kids out there going for their MD/PhD but I'm interested in heart research big time. I was wondering if anyone knew of any MD/PhD programs that may be know for their heart research.

I'm just having trouble figuring out which programs to apply to... it seems pretty daunting!

Any help would be wonderful! :D Hopefully I'm not the only MD/PhD wannabe in love with heart research...

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
My advice is that if you're competitive enough, apply to a range of top to mid-tier programs and figure it out when you get there. Narrow it down as well based on the locations you would like to live in. You can also ask your undergrad mentors, but they're very unreliable when it comes to this stuff. If you go to a strong MSTP you're almost guaranteed to have many options. You could try finding some Cardiology Research rankings, for what they're worth. If you do find some rankings on this, come back and last us know, because many would be interested to see them.

Nobody goes into this process with a great deal of insight. Some of the places that are great for heart research might not have MSTPs or fully-funded MD/PhD programs.

SDNers are mostly pre-meds and others who are tremendously biased towards their home program, but don't know the whole story. i.e. There's not some heart research guru sitting here who's going to tell you where the top programs are. There's just some pre-med or 1st year MSTP who is going to chime in with, let me tell you why my program is great! and you might hear from one or two of these and it's not going to be terribly helpful.