Best path to health care when you're not from any related science?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Physicalisian

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone !

I am currently in my undergrad and enjoy what I'm studying in terms of academia (math & computer science) but I don't really have a desire to work in the industry or to pursue grad school as these options don't seem fulfilling to me. I've always been attracted to the medical field and working in health care in some way is I feel the only thing that I could pursue and feel good about it if that makes sense. I most likely will not be able to satisfy much if any pre-requisites to health care for the remainder of my time at school so I wonder what the best path going forward for me is?

Should I pursue PA, RN, NP or even MD/DO? Or if you feel that I should never be allowed near a hospital in my life feel free to share that too!

Some more background on me would be that at this point I'd like to try to avoid a significant more amount of schooling as I'd like to be both in the hospital and have the free time to pursue my own interests in mathematics. In terms of the pre-reqs I find biology interesting enough, chemistry is a little dull and physics is kind of annoying. While I really love math I don't really enjoy the kinds of math that is required/taught to pre-healthcare. I don't really feel a lot of passion for the subjects themselves aside from some interest in biology but of course I'd have to be willing to get through them to do what I want to.

If you have any experience in anything related please share, or if you have some opinion on my character I'd also hear that out.

Thank you very much.

Members don't see this ad.