Best program to pursue forensic psych career?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

trampslikeus

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all. I'm hoping some of you here can be of some help to me.

I graduated with a BA in Psychology from Cal Poly Pomona and am currently on gap year, applying to grad schools, volunteering as a research assistant with a former professor, and gaining clinical experience as an Equine Assisted Psychotherapy intern. I am greatly interested in providing psychometric assessments & want to build a private practice. I want my PsyD but may have to get my MA, become an MFT, and then go on to the doctorate/becoming a licensed psychologist. More money in the long run, but I'll take whatever path works.

I've chosen five schools in the Los Angeles area to apply to for the coming academic year. I am well aware that I am greatly limiting myself, but due to circumstances both financial and otherwise, I am not currently capable of attending a school that would require relocation. There's really nothing I can do about it unless I put off my grad schooling (and, consequently, building a career) for a few years. If I end up taking the MA → PsyD route, I might be able to relocate for the doctorate but that remains to be seen. Below are the five schools along with some pros and cons.

California State University, Los Angeles: Forensic Psychology MS
Close to home, exactly what I want to do, literally minutes away from the LA courts, program is geared toward sending you to doctorate; applied last year, was denied, am not confident that I will get in
Pepperdine University: Clinical Psychology MA (with or without MFT emphasis)
Has a Forensic Psychology Research Lab, good APA internship match, have heard nothing but good things from students
Azusa Pacific University: Family Psychology PsyD, Family Forensic Psychology concentration