Best residency program for onc?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sylar11

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I was wondering what the top few east coast programs would be for an academic fellowship in Onc?
E.g. is it better to go to Cornell over a "higher-ranked" program like Columbia, Penn etc. because of its affiliation with MSKCC? How would those stack up to MGH, BWH, BIDMC or other NYC programs?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I am currently a third year resident at Cornell and matched in heme onc last year.

I think the connection with MSKCC helped a great deal. We rotate their for 6 weeks a year, and I was able to start doing research with a faculty member there as an intern (they really love having cornell residents for research projects, very easy to get mentors).

As a rule, I think almost everyone who wants to end up at MSKCC for fellowship, assuming they did well at Cornell, is able to go (there are exceptions, but not many). Most people got interviews everywhere they applied. We also match great outside new york (although I think you'll find most people want to stay in the city because of spouses etc).

I'm sure other New York programs match fine. I think coming from a place like Columbia, you're likely to great in the match...so I wouldn't rule a place like that out just because the cancer center is smaller. The one caveat is Boston. Going to a harvard program is almost a prerequisite if you want to go to Dana Farber (I heard 13/14 of their spots went to people from Harvard programs). None of the other top programs are that inbred, so you'll have a decent shot coming from anywhere good.

For what its worth, last year, we had 7 people apply in heme onc.

1 is staying at Cornell
1 is going to Columbia
1 is going to MD Anderson
and 4 are staying at MSKCC

I think thats pretty representative of the match annually. Hope that helps.