Biochemistry pathways on USMLE

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dangit

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just for background sake, I'm studying for the biochemistry shelf exam, but I figure since they're recycled USMLE question, the best way to study for the shelf is to study as if I'm studying for the boards.

So my question is, I'm using First Aid + RR to study and I'm wondering if I should memorize the pathways. I've searched for this but I've read conflicting responses, so I'm hoping someone can clarify. I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Just for background sake, I'm studying for the biochemistry shelf exam, but I figure since they're recycled USMLE question, the best way to study for the shelf is to study as if I'm studying for the boards.

So my question is, I'm using First Aid + RR to study and I'm wondering if I should memorize the pathways. I've searched for this but I've read conflicting responses, so I'm hoping someone can clarify. I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.

i took the shelf ~1 year ago, but from what i can remember, yes, you need to be able to draw out all the big pathways and know the RLS cold.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
so should i be able to draw out ALL the pathways in First Aid?

oh, thanks to both you guys!

You don't need to memorize the whole pathway, but know which steps are important and any pathology that is associated with a malfunction in the pathway.