BiPaP in APE/CHF

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

roja

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, we are reading some review articles and two of them quote a study that had increased mortality (MI's) with biPap. However, this study had only 23 patients and two patients died..

So, it begs the question,

do you use bipap as NIV in APE/CHF?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a respiratory therapist and at my hospital we use Bipap or vapotherm first, sometimes it works when combined with diuretics/ tx's(even though tx's don't help chf REALLY!). If they come in, in an advanced state then you might as well just intubate them immediately.

roja said:
So, we are reading some review articles and two of them quote a study that had increased mortality (MI's) with biPap. However, this study had only 23 patients and two patients died..

So, it begs the question,

do you use bipap as NIV in APE/CHF?

We use BiPAP very frequently. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. More often than not, patients usually get better with BiPAP and diuresis and rarely require intubation.

Roja, can you forward me those studies you are reviewing?

Cheers!

Members don't see this ad :)
Regardless, N=23 doesn't make for a very strong study.

I concur... and the general philosophy here is bipap in a patient that is needing NIV. The to review articles are the EMP reviews.. fairly respected review articles....so I was curious...

southerndoc, if you want the review articles, lPM me your email.. I will send them your way...

roja said:
I concur... and the general philosophy here is bipap in a patient that is needing NIV. The to review articles are the EMP reviews.. fairly respected review articles....so I was curious...

southerndoc, if you want the review articles, lPM me your email.. I will send them your way...
Can you post the citations? I'm interested in them as well.