BS Chest Pain Admits

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

The White Coat Investor

Practicing Doc and Blogger
Partner Organization
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a PGYII EM resident. Sometimes it seems to me that my attendings want to admit every chest pain patient over 40 for a rule/out, unless we can find a pneumonia, PE, or PTX that we can clearly blame their chest pain on. It is quite clear to me that most of these are bulll****tt admits, but the literature that is frequently cited to me includes all the bizarre ways that MIs present. (most without chest pain at all it seems at times.) To make it worse, one out of every 10-15 of these bs admits I put in turns out to rule in, making it even more difficult to send anyone home. My friends in IM give me a hard time about these soft rule/outs, and I agree with them most of the time. Does anyone know of any good literature out there that can be used by a good Emergency Physician to do a better job differentiating the bs from real disease? (Don't lecture me on risk factors, the classic presentation of ACS etc, I've got the basics down.) On a related note, how long is "a clean cath" "good for?" That is to say, if my patient had a clean cath 5 years ago, is it possible he has significant coronary disease now? What about 2 years ago, or 6 months ago?

Members don't see this ad.

Unfortunately the best way is to not fight the power. Everyone is worried about liability. Yours is not the final signature on the discharge papers and the more you see the more afraid you become of missing that one that's going to come back to bite you in the ass in the form of a lawsuit. It's an easy admission, rule out, stress test, discharge by 5 the next day. Most likely it's bogus but in the current litiginous climate that's just something that'll have be sucked up.