CA Pharmacy School Tips?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rollingmedicine

Nuclear or Clinical
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I recently joined this site because I seem to have a hard time finding good resources when it comes to applying to pharmacy schools (other then basic information that I receive from my school organization and things that I can find online ^^;)

I am currently a student at UCLA and I am planning to apply to pharmacy school this year. But because of some family situation that I have to deal with right now, I cannot study pharmacy outside of California.

I was hoping to find some students who are currently attending any CA Pharmacy School and can give me some helpful advice or tips that can help me apply this year since I understand that CA pharmacy schools are very competitive.

My GPA is really not the best but I do have a lot of organizations (leaderships), volunteer, work experience and research stuff that can hopefully help me out T_T

I also hope to make new friends here who are interested in CA pharmacy school as well! ^0^

Members don't see this ad.

I graduated from a CA p-school. What questions do you have?

I graduated from a CA p-school. What questions do you have?
Hi there! I was just wondering since CA schools do not really require PCAT, what were other things that you did to make yourself competitive? Does having a pharmacy tech license really help a lot even if you cannot find a job using the license? Also, I heard that there are essay portions as well. What are some questions that they ask you to write in the essay?

Members don't see this ad :)
Your first goal is to get an interview. I would worry about other things later (e.g., write an essay). All pharmacy schools look at these but California schools tend to be more competitive.

(1) Grades are the most important thing.