Calculus, Do I really need it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sike08

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have taken the necessary pre-reqs for math (for med school) Calc 1, but i have just entered my physics class (which is non-calc based) and found that i really enjoy it. my major is biochem/biophysics and i believe i will need a larger grasp of the physics aspect to really understand everything. that being said, should i take a higher level calc course to set me up for the higher level physics i have to take??

thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Yes. Higher level physics is very calculus intensive. Calculus by itself can be painful (calc 2 at my univ. was a pain), but it's extremely useful, even if just for the analytical abilities it gives your mind with true understanding.

I have taken the necessary pre-reqs for math (for med school) Calc 1, but i have just entered my physics class (which is non-calc based) and found that i really enjoy it. my major is biochem/biophysics and i believe i will need a larger grasp of the physics aspect to really understand everything. that being said, should i take a higher level calc course to set me up for the higher level physics i have to take??

thanks.

Yes, you need calculus to get into medical school but most likely will not need it afterwards. However, you will need to know statistics. Why that isn't a requirement, I have no idea.

Members don't see this ad :)
Both posts aboveme are wrong, the majority of medical schools actually do NOT require calc, but rather a year/ semester of college level math. Which could be statistics or something else.

And the majority of premeds take trig based physics. You do NOT have to take calc based physics.

Both posts aboveme are wrong, the majority of medical schools actually do NOT require calc, but rather a year/ semester of college level math. Which could be statistics or something else.