Quantcast

California Away Elective Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vert310

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I wanted to get an opinion from the experts on which away elective I should do in LA. I'm trying to decide between UCLA and USC.

A little background: I'm an alright student, I'm originally from LA, displaced to a middle tier school in Philly, trying to get back to Cali for residency and an alright student. I've mostly HP and Honors 1st and 2nd year, Step 1 222, I've HP everything 3rd year except Medicine which I honored, and I'm currently on Surgery. I'm planning to take my Step 2 in Aug to try to bump my score a bit.

I know UCLA is pretty competitive so I was maybe thinking of doing an away elective there because I feel I might not even be considered for an interview there. I'm pretty personable so I feel this can better my chances putting in face time there.

USC on the other hand, I feel I have a decent chance of getting an interview and doing an away there I heard really helps.

In the end, I'm trying to get back to Cali. I would love to go to UCLA but would be glad to go to USC as well. Should I use my away at a long shot or at a school that is more at my level?

One more thing to note, for the previous couple years, my school did not match UCLA anesthesia but this past month, 2 kids from my program matched there.

Thanks for the input peeps!

vert

DO4lifer

Gold Member
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
i'd recommend USC. Its better to go for the program you have a better chance at interviewing/matching than a long shot where you may end up getting no interview at all since you just want location. If you wanted to go for the better program, i'd choose UCLA.

without the high profile stats, USC makes more sense.

Uegis

1 Down 3 To Go
10+ Year Member
Reaction score