CourbenMD

10+ Year Member
Mar 11, 2008
Status
Pre-Medical
Hello Everyone,
My name is Benjamin I am a first year med student studying at columbia's program in Israel.
I want to go into surgery.
Now I am an MS-1, what do I have to do to get a good residency application.

- How do I find a mentor and how is he/she supposed to help me

- I have to do research. In what? surgery? so little opportunities!?

- Is shadowing important?

- Are there any official internship opportunities (summer) for MS-1 interested in surgery.

Your help will be welcome

Thanks

Ben

sirus_virus

nonsense poster
10+ Year Member
Nov 6, 2006
Status
Non-Student
Hello Everyone,
My name is Benjamin I am a first year med student studying at columbia's program in Israel.
I want to go into surgery.
Now I am an MS-1, what do I have to do to get a good residency application.

- How do I find a mentor and how is he/she supposed to help me

- I have to do research. In what? surgery? so little opportunities!?

- Is shadowing important?

- Are there any official internship opportunities (summer) for MS-1 interested in surgery.

Your help will be welcome

Thanks

Ben
Best to contact your school advisor for specific instructions.

About the Ads

WellWornLad

10+ Year Member
Feb 5, 2008
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Is shadowing important?
:laugh:

Yeah, you really need to talk to someone at your school, as it's just too much stuff to write down here.

dragonfly99

10+ Year Member
May 15, 2008
Status
Attending Physician
Find yourself a practicing surgeon @your medical school, preferably one with a high rank like full professor. Attach yourself to him. Try to spend time observing him in the OR. Ask if he knows anyone who needs a research assistant for next summer.

You could search the AMA and AMSA web sites for lists of summer opportunities. Your med school should have such a list also (? student or academic affairs office).