Can anyone help me with this?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

grapewrath

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I have a question that's been pestering me. Well, I'm a third-year medical student, and I'm mostly interested in pediatrics. In fact, I love it. I did my rotation a few months ago, and it was just great. However, I recently received my grade for Peds, and I think (I say I think, because I still have to clarify something with my roommate, who has my grade and comments, since I'm away for a month) I just got a "Pass." That's average at my med school because we're on an Honors, High Pass, Pass, etc., system.

That worries me, though, because I really want to get into a good pediatric residency program. I'm just not sure if I'll still have a good chance at getting into a good program if I just received a Pass. Is there anyone that can give me input on what my chances are (assuming I do better in Peds AI and electives later on)?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

No worries. I didn't do so hot on my 3rd year Peds rotation at all, but I learned my lesson and did as well as I could on my peds sub-I 4th year and peds electives (which are much easier to do well on, I think) and got some pretty strong LOR's which is what my application had been riding on this whole time. I had a good interview-offer:initial-reject ratio, and we'll see how Match Day fares.
I've heard from my advisor that a visible improvement from 3rd to 4th year is quite impressive, whether that's by grades or by letter of rec. So no worries! You'll figure out the cogwheels and get things rolling once you're an MS-IV. Keep up the good work, and I'm glad you've enjoyed the little ones. (The big and old ones are not so pleasant).

-Todd MS-IV USC