Can anyone shed light on realistic compensation (also private practice questions)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Anakinmemer

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a medical student interested in ophthalmology and I am trying to learn about the things they don't teach you in medical school aka what life is actually like as an ophthalmologist. In my reading I have noticed the dichotomy of compensation figures quoted is more extreme than any other field. What I mean by that is certain threads on sdn and reddit have people saying ophthalmologists can make 7 figures, and others showing academic and private starting salaries below 200k which seems egregiously low compared to other specialties. I have a few questions about this:

1. I know personal salaries are private so I'm not asking anyone to share, but based on your knowledge of the job market what are realistic ranges one can expect in private practice vs academic, starting career vs established doctor.

2. If the range between private practice and academic is as big as people say, why? I know academic takes a cut in every field, but why would ophthalmologists be hit the hardest? For 4 years of training including surgical training a sub 200k salary with little room for growth seems awful and I don't understand why ophthalmologists would even take those positions when academic centers pay other 4 year trained physicians much more (anesthesia).