1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

Can I do it? advice please!

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by HurricaneAlana, Apr 9, 2007.

1. HurricaneAlana

2+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    Hi! I just decided that I want to go to Dental School... I majored in Health Science (pre-physical therapy track)... and after volunteering at the PT department, I realized that is not what I want to do with my life.. After carefully re-evaluating my options, I realized that this is something I definitely want to pursue as a career.

So here are some things I am worried about:

1) this is such a late decision, I haven't shadowed anyone yet (will hopefully start soon)
    2) I am not taking Orgo II or Physics II til the summer... is is possible to do well on DAT without completing Orgo II?
    3) My total GPA is 3.36 (should increase to 3.45 from my calculations of what I expect to recieve in current classes) and my science is 3.18 (which should increase to about 3.3-3.33)
    4)I am graduating this semester (3 years of college) from the University of Miami... I haven't taken biochem or microbio... I realize a bunch of schools require these... is it a big deal if I take them over the next year at a school back home in NY?

Do schools take into consideration if I had a bad year? I've generally done well above a 3.5 each semester, except my sophmore year, because I was dealing with some personal issues... Is it better to avoid mentioning that (since it may make me seem "unstable") or explain that me flying out of town a lot impaired my ability to concentrate on academics...