Can I do PMR and some medicine on the side?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wjs010

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, MS3 here. coming down the the home stretch now and realizing 3rd year is almost over. I've had a weird mix of likes/interests these past few years. In college I graduated in kinesiology( I always loved sports, working out, bodybuilding, etc.) and was accepted into PT school..for some picky reasons I decided to defer and give it a lot of thought what I really wanted to do with my career, because I had taken physiology/cancer biology courses in college and really enjoyed it. I ended up finding SDN actually and got lucky enough to find out this PMR thing. I did a lot of reading about it and thought it provided everything I might want. I ended up figuring that I should go to medical school and REALLY see the vast array of options that it would provide, and boy was I right. I loved the first two years of med school. Medicine in general, i really like. I truly enjoy thinking about all the different types of diseases. I am a DO student and went into it thinking it would add to my background, etc. However, I really did not enjoy the OMM stuff. I liked my ortho rotation okay(not surgery, just the clinic stuff). So for the first two years I had my eyes on IM, because of the range of things you can do with it. It's still an option for me. I also liked Rheumatology and dermatology during our coursework. Then, third year came around and i was lucky enough to land a Dermatology rotation early on. I had a lot of fun and loved it. so this also becomes an option. So I have IM, derm, and a vague, naive notion of EM and PMR. PMR sounds great because of my background, but I don't know anything about how practice is like. I will do a rotation in 4th year to see how it is. EM is a required rotation so I will definitely find out how that is.EM worries me because of the burnout scare. I have a feeling