Apr 5, 2010
Status
Pre-Veterinary
Hello, I am a pre-vet student at IUPUI and am about to apply to Purdue this year. I just wanted to post to everyone to see what you all think of my chances this go around. My grades are ok. I think I will end up with a 3.2 or 3.3 depending on the next semester. I have had a few C's and one in Micro. I have tried and tried and nothing I do in there is making a difference. I have worked at two vet clinics and also volunteer at a equine clinic. I also have shown dogs and horses since I was very little. I was the number 1 jr handler in the country for a few years and have been to Westminster. I also have taken ai classes for school and my own benefit of living on a farm. I was the student rep for a vet tech program my school started. I was never working towards vet tech I just spent a lot of time with the vet at our school and he asked me to help. So I have alot going on outside my grades but am still very nervous about getting in. I have considered other careers just in case but cant seem to find one I would be very happy in. I really was just wondering if anyone could give me some advise and/or opinions of my chances.
Thanks for the help!!

BlacKAT33

UPenn c/o 2014!! :)
Jul 1, 2009
Status
Veterinary Student
Looks like you've got some animal/vet experience which is good because you will need that to get in with your lower GPA. Have you taken the GREs yet? I think you are on the right track. It is possible to get in with Cs on your transcript. Just make sure to stay ahead of the game. If you are applying this year, get your eLORs figured out and make sure they know you well, study really hard for the GRE, start your personal statement early so you get tons of advice and it is perfection by the time you submit it! I don't know if Purdue has essays in their supplemental but also work on those early. I was able to get in with 4 Cs on my transcript but I really rocked every other part of the application process. Good luck :luck:

cowgirla