Can Pharmacists Administer Meds in a HOSPITAL?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Truthspeaker

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm still a resident and always treat my pharmacists with respect because they are SO helpful but I observed a situation that could have been handled a lot better.

A neurology resident with the neurologist in the room asked a pharmacist to give TPA (the clot buster) because the nurse had no idea what it did or how to give it. The pharmacist told the neurology team that it would be illegal for him to do so and said the nurse HAS to give it and he will walk her through giving it. The neurologists then told the nurse to "man up" and give the med. This was all in front of the patient's family.

I'm sure that pharmacist is a real straight shooter but I wanted to double check if anyone ever gave BIG LEAGUE meds like TPA (the clot buster) or otherwise in a hospital. Is it appropriate or not?

Thanks guys.

Members don't see this ad.

As pharmacists, we do not receive that kind of training. We know about drugs, and how they are administered, but unfortunately, it is not practical for us to actually administer it - nor is it practical if there are nurses that are available to do it.

Just out of curiosity, why didn't the neurologist / resident administer it?

Reactions: 2 users
Drug administration was added to the pharmacist scope of practice to allow for immunizations. However, it’s likely against hospital policy and definitely not a good idea for pharmacists to administer IV meds.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Pharmacist did exactly the right thing. RN messed up, should have followed directions of the RPh or gotten the charge RN.