Canadian vs. US MHA/MPH programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MadeInChinaa

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a Canadian student interested in healthcare administration, policy, and management. I have applied to the following American programs because they have a great reputation and accreditation:
- Cornell MHA program (admitted as of today!)
- Boston MPH - in health policy and management (admitted)
- U of Minnesota MPH - in health policy and management (admitted)
- U of Minnesota MHA - interview scheduled

and the following Canadian programs:
- UBC MHA - applied
- Dalhousie MHA - applied
- U of Alberta MPH - in health policy and management (applied)
- U of Toronto MPH - in health promotion (applied)

In the future, I eventually want to become a CEO of a hospital or work for the government in implementing health policies/legislation. I'm now facing 2 dilemmas:

1) where should I pursue my degree? Canada or in US?
I feel like there are more opportunities in healthcare in US but at the same time if I were to to to the States for my MHA degree and stay in there to work then my opportunities may be more limited because I'm not a US citizen.

2) Which degree - MHA or MPH - would give me more options and flexibility in my future career choices?
I feel like if I pursue MHA then I will be stuck with the private sector and it will be hard for me to transfer to working in the government. But, even if I do a MPH in the States, I probably won't be able to work in the government due to the citizenship restrictions.

I know this is a long post but thanks for reading! This is my first time posting on the forums and any suggestions are greatly appreciated!
:)

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi.