Cardiac physiology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dam272

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Asking as a new anesthesiology resident with an interest in CT Anesthesia, which would be the best resource to get better at cardiacvascular physiology?

Members don't see this ad.

Look over the drape when they open the chest. Then start pressing buttons

Reactions: 7 users
When I was a intern, the chief told me CT anes is like anes on steroids. I thought it was funny because he's like a jacked dude. But there is a lot of truth in it.

Start by being really good at normal physiology, CT physiology is built on the foundation of normal physiology. Then read some text for the cardiac considerations of the anes drugs. Read specifically about bypass - steps and coagulopathies related to CBP (cardiopulmonary bypass).

Once you know all the science behind it, it's time for practice; before you learn anything, just lean over the drape and say "geee, I heard you guys were good technically, but i have to say the podiatrists are probably slightly better at suturing"

The next step is knowing your echo. Start with basic views and try to get practice and the 3d structures in your head. The most likely reason you're not getting a good view is probably the surgeon's fault, so just ask the surgeons nicely to stop what they're doing until you get your ME4 Chamber. The most common cause of foreshortening is poor surgical technique.

You'll be on your way to becoming the best resident around!

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)