Aug 25, 2017
Status
Pre-Veterinary
Hey guys,

So I'm currently in the midst of filling out applications for vet school, but lately I've been doubting myself that I'll actually get in because of my not-so-great GPA (below 3.0) and GRE scores. I have a B.S. in Animal Sciences, and I have plenty of experience, being about 6+ years, working with a variety of species.

My background includes animal care taking, clinical experience and research, working with a variety of species of animals varying from lab animals to wildlife. In addition to these experiences, I have also worked in customer service in a pet supply store. I am currently a lab technician at a cancer research center, managing the mouse colony, assisting with developing and maintaining lymphocyte cultures, and other in vitro based assays and scientific experiments.

Although getting into a vet school would be great, I don't feel like it's obtainable for me at the moment, unless if I plan on going back to school and retaking classes to raise my GPA and retake my GRE for a third time (which are possible options). Just to prepare myself if I don't get in, I was wondering what possible options are there for career alternatives? I have been doing some research on my own mostly seeing vet assistants, vet techs, agriculture, and zookeepers. If I do get into vet school my ideal interest would be going down the path of lab animal medicine or research, which for a career alternative I would like to go down a similar path. Are there any careers similar to that? Preferably ones that wouldn't require me to relocate, and that are financially stable careers? I was considering of moving my way up at my current work from a lab technician to a research technician, and higher up if that's even possible. Or even go down a different path from cancer research, involving research that's more animal-related.

Thank you for your responses in advance!

PppermintTwist

7+ Year Member
Aug 10, 2011
Status
Pre-Veterinary