7+ Year Member
Aug 27, 2007
Status
Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
Here is my stats:
GAP 3.90 overall 3.91 Sci.
DAT: AA 25 TS 28 PAT 19
Research 1 paper published, about 100 hours of shadowing

I called Baylor yesterday and they told me only 8 out states spots are offered this year, and they are mainly considering students from Louisiana, New Mexico and Arkansas because they are the neighbor states and they have no dental schools. I am an Ohio resident, any chance?

tsitneD

10+ Year Member
Feb 27, 2009
TX
Status
Pre-Dental
You are a strong applicant based on your GPA and DAT but I have heard of out stater with slim chances in Texas schools. You are a good competition in out state quota though.
Good Luck!

N

NAVY DDS 2010

The first time I applied to dental school back in 1995, the out of state standards were pretty much the same for the Texas schools. I applied to San Antonio only because I had a friend who was in school there. I had a 3.85 gpa with 3.95 science gpa and 21 aa and pat. I had no problem getting in. Your scores are better than mine. I think you will be competative as long as your application in general is good.

prk15

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jan 31, 2009
NYC
Status
Dentist
I only have a 21 AA 22 TS with a 3.56 GPA but I'm still applying as an out-of-state applicant. Wishing for the best.

litldime

D2
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jul 11, 2006
Texas
Status
Dental Student
Your grades and scores seem pretty good. Baylor is a tough school to get into. We do have a couple of students from each of those states you mentioned. No one from Ohio though. You never know. Good luck!

OP
T

tcc6115

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Aug 27, 2007
Status
Your grades and scores seem pretty good. Baylor is a tough school to get into. We do have a couple of students from each of those states you mentioned. No one from Ohio though. You never know. Good luck!