Chances? 3.63 GPA, 3.54 BCPM, 38 MCAT. Reapplicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lawlasaurus Rex

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I would love your input.

I graduated from a top 30 college last year, with several additional classes taken post-bac at a different institution since. My overall GPA as of this moment is 3.63, BCPM is 3.54 with my second MCAT score being 38Q (14ps, 10v, 14bs). I scored a 29Q (11ps, 8v, 10bs) my first time last year.

This will be my second time applying, which I am aiming to do this coming cycle. My first try was last summer to only MD schools. My secondaries were completed around late august/early september (late, I know).

What is bugging me is my GPA and having taken the MCAT twice. On first glance, my GPA looks decent, but my senior year science GPA was 3.35 (a bunch of B+ classes). I was hitting 3.6 or higher from Freshman year till beginning Senior year. Since graduating, I took several more upper-lvl science courses at another 4-year institution and have a 4.0 sGPA in every one. I am pretty worried about how this dip in my senior year sGPA will look to an adcom and how that will affect my chances at good research oriented MD schools. Lets have you're 2-cents. I will be applying early, to DO schools and more broadly to lots of MD schools. At the same time, I do want to know what schools would be too much of a reach.

Here is a short list of upper tiered schools I would also love to apply to this time around, but were out of reach my first time applying with my lower MCAT score. Please tell me what you think my chances are. I want to keep my hopes in check about my chances in getting into more difficult programs, since I did take the MCAT twice and I do have academic skeletons. (oh, I'm an Oregon resident). Feel free to recommend others!

University of Chicago
Stanford
USC
OHSU
Darthmouth
NYU
Boston U
Tufts
U of Rochester
U of Washington