Chances of Peds Residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pedssresidency1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all-

Some guidance would be much appreciated.

I am interested in Peds (currently a 3rd yr allopathic med student) and my step 1 score was 244 and preclinical grades were mixed between pass and honors. Assuming my rotations go well I had some specific questions regarding my chances of getting into certain peds programs. I am currently a NY resident.

1. Chances on competitive spots in NE? Specifically CHOP and Boston
2. Chances of Seattle and Denver (these are really only places on West coast (and by coast I mean west of the Mississippi river) I would be interested in)

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Denver is on the West coast? (OBP scratches head and heads to Atlas to remember his geography).

Your Step 1 score is fine but 240's are common among the very top ranked programs. Preclinical grades aren't that big a deal and some places care about where you went to med school as NY (city/state/state of mind) covers a lot of schools. The key will be how you do on your clinical rotations and of course a solid Step 2 score will be helpful. You might broaden your perspective a bit too. Lots of great programs that will get you into any fellowship you want that aren't the 4 you listed.

Denver is on the West coast? (OBP scratches head and heads to Atlas to remember his geography).

Your Step 1 score is fine but 240's are common among the very top ranked programs. Preclinical grades aren't that big a deal and some places care about where you went to med school as NY (city/state/state of mind) covers a lot of schools. The key will be how you do on your clinical rotations and of course a solid Step 2 score will be helpful. You might broaden your perspective a bit too. Lots of great programs that will get you into any fellowship you want that aren't the 4 you listed.