Changing direction, have questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jr3900

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated a year ago, and I've decided I don't want to pursue law school. Went to an ok private school, my overall GPA is around 3.0, science/math GPA much lower. Failed Gen Chem once and dropped it twice (all on transcript). I've signed up to take a few prereqs at the local community college--how bad is that really? Could I just take orgo and physics at the university level? I have about 100 hours of volunteer service in a hospital setting (earning more), and am looking for research opportunities. The only good news I can offer in this mess is that I scored in the 99th percentile on the LSAT; I'm very good with standardized tests and am not intimidated by the MCAT.

Is medical school still possible for me? I love working in the hospital environment, and in theory I like science. It's just not where my talents lie. Is my GPA too low, or are community college prereqs too toxic? Is an MD program out of the question? (I'm a Florida resident, if that helps.) Could I get into a DO program?

Members don't see this ad.

You can do it! :highfive:

Last edited:
Is an MD program out of the question? (I'm a Florida resident, if that helps.) Could I get into a DO program?

Is medical school out of the question? I'd say no. But by no means will it be an easy path.

My two cents on what you should do:

- Really consider what it means to pursue a career in medicine. What happened to make you not want to continue law school? Could the same reasons come up while in medical school?
- Set realistic expectations for yourself and map out a plan. Putting yourself in a position to be a competitive applicant could take years- especially for MD schools. This website is full of great (and not-so-great) advice. Take your time sifting through it all.