Status
Not open for further replies.

GoSpursGo

SDN Chief Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a little new to sdn and I just have a question about what I should do.

Currently, I'm a freshman ORM in Tx (T-70 non-flagship state school) majoring in biochem with a 4.0 GPA. After investing in the market this past semester, I'm realizing that I enjoy investing and want to learn more about it, so I want to change my major to finance while staying on the pre-med track. My undergraduate institution is known for having a good business school, so I also feel like I'm missing out on an opportunity to learn as much as I can from a good program by only majoring in biochem. There are several pros and cons to switching my major, but the biggest pros are that I would be studying something I enjoy with a light course load the year I plan on studying for the MCAT. The biggest con is that I would graduate in 5 years instead of the traditional 4. This is what my course load would look like

Year 1
  • Fall: 16 hours
    • (1): Perspectives in Biochemistry and Genetics
    • (4): Engineering Mathematics 1
    • (4): General Chemistry 1
    • (3): Introduction to Psychology
    • (4): Introductory Biology 1
    • (0): Life Science Learning Community 1
  • Spring: 12 hours
    • (4): Introductory Biology 2
    • (4): General Chemistry 2
    • (4): Engineering Mathematics 2
  • Summer: 6 hours
    • (3): Public Speaking
    • (3): State and Local Government

Year 2
  • Fall: 16 hours
    • (3): Introductory Accounting
    • (3): Organic Chemistry 1
      • (1): Organic Chemistry Laboratory
    • (3): Legal and Social Environment of Business
    • (3): Principles of Economics
    • (3): Fundamentals of Information Systems

• Spring: 15 hours
    • (3): Introductory Accounting
    • (3): Organic Chemistry 2
      • (1): Organic Chemistry Laboratory
    • (4): College Physics 1
    • (4): Beginning Spanish 1

Year 3
  • Fall: 15 hours