Changing state of residence on AMCAS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ese2

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So my parents moved to Texas from Illinois last year, but because of issues with my father's job and other paperwork things, I realized that I may not be considered a Texas resident. TMDSAS is currently making that decision but I don't know how long that will take.

Question is, what do I tell AMCAS? I already said I was a Texas resident there. By definition of the state I'm a resident of Texas, but through TMDSAS, I may not be. Am I an Illinois resident even though my parents moved? I would hate to face the bias against Texas residents by AMCAS if I'm not even considered in-state through TMDSAS lmfao. That sounds like the worst of two worlds. Any advice is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

What is your state of resident? Do you have a drivers license? What state does it say on it?

Are you currently in college? Working? There's usually some way to determine your legal state of residency and you should go with that. I'm not familiar with TMDSAS and whether or not it considers you a Texas resident if your parents are, but if you're over the age of 18 and you don't live in the state your family does, unless you make all the changes (i.e. changing your drivers license, getting bills sent to an address in that state), your residency doesn't change automatically.

So my parents moved to Texas from Illinois last year, but because of issues with my father's job and other paperwork things, I realized that I may not be considered a Texas resident. TMDSAS is currently making that decision but I don't know how long that will take.