Cheating on exams

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

greentea101

Reaction score
I've notice a few posts on here about people who were dismissed or got a F for cheating or plagiarism.

I come from the UK education system and I have taken classes in the US as part of a post bacc course. In the UK we have national exams that everyone takes at the same time, so I always thought you couldn't really cheat.

But when I was at school in the UK I saw people blatantly cheat and get away with it. I have seen this at university too. As a practicing health professional I have seen it happen again, with practitioners lying about doing tests that they didn't or recording clinical records wrong (I know its wrong because I have past photos that show this).

I have never reported anyone for cheating because I just thought it was not my business but now that I know the significance of why cheating is scrutinized I feel bad.

So my question is are there doctors that do this in the real world?

Members don't see this ad.

Doctors, like the rest of us, are human too. There are good apples and there are bad.

What you're describing seems highly dangerous, and frankly very concerning. These are patient's lives we're talking about after all!

Ethically, there is rarely a time where you shouldn't report someone for these types of behaviors. Gone unchecked, it sets a chain of effects that may cost lives.
Just my thoughts.

Reactions: 3 users
my clinical colleagues are especially emphatic about the concept of professionalism.
They do this because they know that there is data that dishonest doctors start out as dishonest students.

• Love
Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Asking if there is such a thing as a deceitful person, is analogous to asking if water is wet. :lol: