Chemistry Help. Need some advice/tips/pointers.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JohnKimx83

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
The Chemistry section is giving me a LOT of grief :scared:. A lot. I reviewed everything in the Kaplan big book, but the only concepts i'm okay with are:

- Redox
- Balancing
- Bronsted/Arrhenius/Lewis acids & bases
- PVT laws
- pH/pOH

I'm not good at (but can get better at):

- orgo nomenclature
- basic properties of functional groups

I'm TERRIBLE at:

- reaction trends
- reaction and bond orders
- orgo reactions
- questions involving knowledge of the periodic table (for example: "If Po undergoes beta decay, what element is formed?" I know what how to answer the question, but without a periodic table, I don't know how i'd answer it. Periodic tables aren't given, right?)

Please, any help would be GREATLY appreciated. It's pretty late, just a week left, but I will try and cram as much as I can. I'm set with bio, math, verbal, and reading, but chem is going to KICK MY ASSociation.:(
-

Members don't see this ad.

The Chemistry section is giving me a LOT of grief :scared:. A lot. I reviewed everything in the Kaplan big book, but the only concepts i'm okay with are:

- Redox
- Balancing
- PVT laws
- pH/pOH

- orgo nomenclature

I'm TERRIBLE at:

- reaction trends
- orgo reactions
- questions involving knowledge of the periodic table (for example: "If Po undergoes beta decay, what element is formed?" I know what how to answer the question, but without a periodic table, I don't know how i'd answer it. Periodic tables aren't given, right?)

Please, any help would be GREATLY appreciated. It's pretty late, just a week left, but I will try and cram as much as I can. I'm set with bio, math, verbal, and reading, but chem is going to KICK MY ASSociation.:(
-