chicago postbac premed

Discussion in 'Postbaccalaureate Programs' started by rey504, Dec 18, 2005.

1. rey504

rey504 New Member

Pre-Medical
    Hi. I'm 24, and live and work in Chicago. I graduated in May of 05 from a Chicago Uni. I was originally premed, but changed majors (long, long story) and ended up with a BA in a social science. I have decided that I want to pursue medicine and am wondering which program might be best. I need to take all of the premed courses.

I believe Northwestern and Loyola each have formal programs, while it is possible to do the prereqs informally at UIC and UChicago. Are admissions chances to the respective med schools increased with attendance at any of these, either through linkage or otherwise? Are any of these generally more respected? Does anyone have experience with any of these programs?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

2. Jonesie

7+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I started the post-bac pre-med program at Loyola when I was 24; I'm now 27 and will be submitting my application next spring. I've been reasonably happy with Loyola, but a big factor in my choice was the fact that I did my undergrad there (with a music major!), so I'm familiar with the campus and administrative offices. The major complaint from my LU post-bac friends has been that they didn't receive any sort of orientation materials beyond a campus map....but I hear the pre-health office is really trying to correct that and make post-bacs feel more welcome and supported.