Chillest psychiatry residencies in the Northeast?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

psychlover711

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know this may be controversial but I’m at a point in my life where I no longer want to be overworked. What are some residencies in the Northeast (maybe even South) that have an amazing work life balance?

Members don't see this ad.

Hey I'm a PGY-1 resident based around NYC. The most chill place I interviewed in the Northeast was easily Mather Hospital in Port Jefferson. No overnight call, no 24s, every Wednesday off (virtual from home lecture), get wellness days in addition to 4 weeks of vacation. The residents were incredibly happy and said the work life balance was phenomenal. It's through Northwell too so one of the highest salaries in the country, I think they start at 79k. Other chill places I interviewed at were Stony Brook Eastern Long Island, Lehigh Valley, and the Wright Center in Scranton.

Reactions: 2 users
Unsolicited advice, you say? Gladly.

Consider the quality of the training, not how chill it is. If it's strenuous but the training is good, it will help you have a chill post-training life, which is, if my math is correct, the rest of your life.

If the program is chill but the training is bad - if you're unprepared clinically, professionally, and from a business perspective, then the rest of your life may not be so chill.

Reactions: 5 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Unsolicited advice, you say? Gladly.

Consider the quality of the training, not how chill it is. If it's strenuous but the training is good, it will help you have a chill post-training life, which is, if my math is correct, the rest of your life.

If the program is chill but the training is bad - if you're unprepared clinically, professionally, and from a business perspective, then the rest of your life may not be so chill.