Bikini Princess

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
May 26, 2002
Visit site
Status
Help me choose schools! MD/PhD 2003
I have a 3.60/3.61 gpa/bcpm and who knows about the MCAT!

I have lots of medical/research experience from the past four years in undergrad. And I'm keeping up my research work and volunteering in medicine too.

Doctor&Geek

25 > 5 / 15 < 8
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Mar 25, 2002
Status
Fellow [Any Field]
GWU and Creighton look like they don't have active MD/PhD programs, but I could be mistaken. Vermont's program looks new [with a new director etc.]. Vermont's director I believe wrote an article about the physician-scientist gap in some cardiology journal, so check that out if you're serious about applying to Vermont.

Vandy, Mt. Sinai [ask SDNer JJ4], WashU [ask SDNer energy_girl], Pittsburgh, and Northwestern [maybe RNAgirl can help here] all have active NIH-funded MSTPs.

*shameless advertisement*
visit <a href="http://www.jasonpaik.org/mdphd.html" target="_blank">www.jasonpaik.org/mdphd.html</a> for more links to active MSTP websites.

Yours,

Jason

isidella

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
May 23, 2002
Visit site
Status
Princess,
Hey, Isid here. I am applying to 22 MD/PhD programs. I assume you will be applying to more than six, right?

I have a bcmp gpa of 3.71 and a cum gpa of 3.84. I don't know about the MCAT. As for the test, is there a score that you would decide not to apply all together, a score where you would apply to fewer schools, and a score where you would feel confident applying to Wash U? I am trying to figure out these cutoffs in my head and I start bargaining with myself. (Well, if I only get a 32, I heard that a 30 got into the Harvard MSTP once, then maybe I should apply here and not apply there and yadda yadda yadda).
I certainly hope I got better than a 32 anyhow. If you don't mind sharing your cutoffs, if you have them, it may be quite helpful to a fellow hopeful.