Ciao...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tympanic

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a non traditional med student. Just started Med1 this August and am suffering through Anatomy with 20 year old kids in my class!

I was an engineer for 12 years and decided to become a doctor. Honestly the jury is out on whether it was a well thought out decision or not.

At the risk of being labeled a spammer I am posting my blog link. I am actually on this site with a different username but registered this username to remain anonymous if people do follow my blog.

http://engineering-to-medicine.blogspot.com/

Let me know if you have specific questions and I'll do my best to answer your post. I do have an anatomy exam coming up so if I don't answer immediately bear with me.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Thanks for making yourself available for questions, a couple of which came to mind. I browsed your blog and didn't find answers, so I'll ask here:

Why did you leave engineering for medicine?

In what ways, if any, are medical students different from engineers?

Where are you attending medical school?

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for making yourself available for questions, a couple of which came to mind. I browsed your blog and didn't find answers, so I'll ask here:

Because engineering just wasn't providing me with the satisfaction of helping people the way I wanted to. I was an engineer in a medical device company and it just wasn't as satisfying as I had hoped it would be. Yes, it took me 12 yrs to get to that conclusion and jump ship!

Medical Students use a completely different part of their brain. Honestly I could answer this but it would take a long reply and I have to head over to the cadaver lab!

Ohio

In case anyone was interested and they were following my blog, I just changed the URL.

Blog link