Clinical experience, physician shadowing

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jp92

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys!

I am a rising Sophomore at a college who is planning on going to a medical school.

As a part of the plan for future, I spent this summer and last two summers doing some volunteer works at a local clinic and nursing home. So, here are my questions:

1) I spent the summers of my junior and senior years of high school volunteering at a local nursing home (200+ hours, solely dedicated to interacting with the residents of the facility). Some people say that this experience is a bit too old to be considered by the medical school admission committee. Is it accurate?

2) Does the volunteer work such as the one that I described above (volunteering at a nursing home helping the elderly) help when it comes to the medical school admission?

3) I am spending this summer at a local practice (internal medicine), 35 hours per week, for a month (totaling 210 hours), doing mostly the PAPERWORK (and a little bit of patient interaction). I believe that I am learning a lot about what is going on in a real clinic, and there is a lot more than it seems over the counter, but is it ever gonna help me?

4) I am planning on spending next summer shadowing a doctor (an ophthalmologist). What are the things that I need to observe from him?

Thank you very much for your time!

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi guys!

I am a rising Sophomore at a college who is planning on going to a medical school.

As a part of the plan for future, I spent this summer and last two summers doing some volunteer works at a local clinic and nursing home. So, here are my questions: