1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Clinical experience vs. research

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by santoukie, Dec 7, 2005.

1. santoukie

santoukie Member
    7+ Year Member

Sup guys,
    im in a tight bind. Lately my gpa has been decently good, im taking mcats coming april. SO winter quarter is my study quarter. However, im in a pickle because i have only 1 quarter of clinical exp. thats it. Im worried thats not enough. SO i signed up for more. however, i have to choose between that and doing research (which i have NO experience in). what should i do?
    should i opt for research over clinical experience, or opt for clinical exp.
    Either one i choose i plan to pursue for at least two quarters, than in the summer switch to the other activity i didnt choose.

I kinda need to decide by friday.
    I would do both but i dont know how reasonable it is to carry a class load, internship and research while studying for mcats? is that what the avg med students doing now adays?

Im shooting for ucsf, which is research heavy, but im also trying to keep my options open seeing how selective UCSF is.
    thanks guys

ps-this should be a decent break from all the anxiety floating around the forum no?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Overeducated

7+ Year Member

Medical Student
    If UCSF is your goal I would recommend starting the research ASAP.

4. chandelantern

chandelantern MSI at Mayo in August!
    5+ Year Member