Clinical hours question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kalle001

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I worked as a CNA for about a year and a half when I first started college. These hours can be considered as clinical correct? Also before I worked as a CNA I worked a year and a half as a Hab-tech(someone who works with patients who have a ID) at a home healthcare facility. Is this considered clinical as well?

Since I have a good amount of hours for clinical(assuming these do count as clinical) do you think it's okay to focus on volunteer and shadowing from here? Or will it look weird that I just stopped doing clinical hours?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
As long as you worked as a CNA and Hab-tech during college they will count as clinical hours. If you worked them during high school then they won't count.

Those clinical hours are great but you should try to get some volunteer clinical hours as well since adcoms like to see you work in healthcare on an unpaid basis showing your commitment.

As long as you worked as a CNA and Hab-tech during college they will count as clinical hours. If you worked them during high school then they won't count.

Those clinical hours are great but you should try to get some volunteer clinical hours as well since adcoms like to see you work in healthcare on an unpaid basis showing your commitment.

The Hab-tech started before college but after high school(I didn't start college until one year later) will that still count? And sounds good thank you! I have a little volunteer clinical hours working at flu shot clinics the home health facility I worked at has every year, but not a lot.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hab-tech should count since its after high school graduation but just to be safe continue clinical volunteering. While you're doing that work on plenty of non-clinical volunteering, shadowing and research.