Clinical Internship vs. Research Assitant vs. Hospital Volunteer vs. Research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EdwardElrich

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone. I'm a pre-med student and I'm confused about what opportunity to take advantage of over the summer or even next term. My choices are:
- psychiatry internship (seems pretty damn cool but a 9-5 time commitment)
-research assistant (eh..)
-hospital volunteer (the most fun and easiest to take advantage of)
-somewhat independent research with a grant (competitive program but I hear it looks good?)

What interests me most is the internship and the volunteer opportunity sounds cool as well. However, I am worried that I "need" research to get into medical school. Which of the opportunities would look best on an application? I know I should do what I like best and feel an attraction towards but life isn't always that easy. Also, does being a research assistant count as having research experience? Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone. I'm a pre-med student and I'm confused about what opportunity to take advantage of over the summer or even next term. My choices are:
-somewhat independent research with a grant (competitive program but I hear it looks good?)

What interests me most is the internship and the volunteer opportunity sounds cool as well. However, I am worried that I "need" research to get into medical school. Which of the opportunities would look best on an application? I know I should do what I like best and feel an attraction towards but life isn't always that easy. Also, does being a research assistant count as having research experience? Thank you.
Yes, being a research assistant is exactly what most premeds are talking about when they say they've "done research."