Clinical vs. Research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

silverquick

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a pre-med sophomore at a top-ranked liberal arts college. Medicine has been my dream profession since my high school days. I shadowed ER doctors and GI doctors for six months during my high school junior year. I am also an Intel International Sicence Fair semi-finalist. I was able to get my Sicence Fair research published as a single-author rapid communication, Journal of Toxicology early this year. I was invited by the Jounal of Inorganic Biochemisty as a paper reviewer. I am doing research for a biology professor in the areas of Microarray and DNA damaging for a year and half and has been inducted to Sigma Xi this year. I will have another abstract/poster presentation and a paper prepared for submission next summer. My concern is Adcom of medical schools may raise question a why don't I apply to PhD program instead of MD program because I excel in basic science research. I plan to do volunteer work this summer for parenthood consultation. I have two options after this summer:

1. Drop research completley and focused on hospital clinical works to balance out my profile.
2. Continue research to get even more papers and poster presentations. My only clinical experience will be doctor shadowing in high school and volunteer works for one summer. Just don't know if it's sufficient for med school applications. However, I believe I will truly stand out among applicants because of my publication record. But I also don't know if MD Adcom cares about it.

My mentor, a fellow at Stanford Med explain to me that all top-tier med schools appreciate applicants with strong research experience and I should not need to worry too much about my clinical experience.