CNA or EMT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jenberg23

Reaction score
Hey everyone! I'm almost done with my freshman year of college, and so far I have no medical experience. I was going to scribe at a hospital this summer but that has been postponed. Before COVID, I was having a hard time finding ways to volunteer or work for a hospital, and I'm afraid I'm not going to be able to get enough medical experience. I've been looking into getting either a CNA or EMT certification but I'm not sure which one will benefit me the most. I don't want to waste a lot of time by only having the opportunity to sit behind a desk entering stuff into a computer. I'm really interested in working at a hospital maybe as an emergency room technician and have some patient contact. I'm having a hard time deciding which certification will get me the most medical/patient exposure. What do you all suggest?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I suggest EMT since you can work as a tech or on an ambulance. Youll get a lot of individual responsibility over the patient and see the doc go ro work in the ER. CNAs also acceptable but it is a bit more likely that you'll end up wiping some butts at a one point or another according to the CNA friends I have.

Haha yea I’ve heard a lot of stories like that about CNA. If I get an EMT certification would I be able to do other work instead of ambulance?

Members don't see this ad :)
Haha yea I’ve heard a lot of stories like that about CNA. If I get an EMT certification would I be able to do other work instead of ambulance?