CNA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

G.A. Oats

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am considering entering a CNA program to gain experience in medicine. What do you guys think the pros and cons are? I did a double major in the humanities and psychology. Now I am pursuing pre-med and will take the MCATs in two years. I am also starting biomedical research. I gpa is around 3.5. Any comments/suggestions you can provide will be much appreciated.

GA Oats

Members don't see this ad.

Oh dear GOD!!!!
CNA's do the s*** work. Don't put yourself through that, oh the humanity! As a CNA you will be lucky enough to..."make beds, clean up feces, clean up urine, make beds, clean up vomit, see things that will make you puke, get no respect, get 0 cash, smell awful things, be around awful people, and clean up poop again" Sounds like a nice life don't it?
Find something else.

G.A.Oats:

I worked as a CNA last summer, and Captain Freedom is right to a certain extent. You do have to clean and do all that S**t, but I thought it was an excellent experience. I got a greater appreciation for the work that CNA and nurses do at care centers. It is a great opportunity to work one-on-one with "patients" and help them throughout there day. Believe me they are very appreciatvie of the HELP you give them. Isn't that the golden answer to the question when asked, "Why you want to be a doctor?" TO HELP PEOPLE. I did it last summer and plan on doing it again. I say give it a chance. It is only for a summer, and I think you would be amazed at how much you might like it.

Go Hawkeyes

Members don't see this ad :)
If you don't need any money, then your best bet is to do VOLUNTEER WORK at a local hospital. You must have good grades, be nice with people, and commit for a min 6 months.