Cold Feet

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

YOOOUK09

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone else having (or had) cold feet about choosing psychiatry? (I'm not going to change my mind - my aps are in).

I didn't make this choice rashly - I worked as a psych aid for several years prior to med school. And I enjoyed both my 3rd year and 4th year rotations in psych - more so than other areas of medicine.

Cold Feet are probably natural with any major life decision. However, it seems particularly acute with psych b/c of the stigma that everyone's gonna think I'm crazy myself, or that I'm not smart enough to practice real medicine (when I'm actually in the top 1/2 of my class and have better than average board scores).

How do other applicants and more experienced practitioners deal with this stigma when they face it?

Members don't see this ad.

Anyone else having (or had) cold feet about choosing psychiatry? (I'm not going to change my mind - my aps are in).

I didn't make this choice rashly - I worked as a psych aid for several years prior to med school. And I enjoyed both my 3rd year and 4th year rotations in psych - more so than other areas of medicine.

Cold Feet are probably natural with any major life decision. However, it seems particularly acute with psych b/c of the stigma that everyone's gonna think I'm crazy myself, or that I'm not smart enough to practice real medicine (when I'm actually in the top 1/2 of my class and have better than average board scores).

How do other applicants and more experienced practitioners deal with this stigma when they face it?

Welcome to the team.

1) Keep in mind that most of the nay-sayers are imaginary.
In reality, your colleagues in other fields will a) envy you for your regular hours in 2 years, and b) run screaming to you for help with their seriously disturbed patients. (Right, Doc Samson?)