Dec 28, 2013
Status
Pre-Pharmacy
Hi there,

I'm a pre-pharmacy student that's also a Pharmacy Technician and going to be 20 in 2014. I'm not in any particular program or school since I've been told that I could just go to community college, take general education courses, get a Bachelor's Degree and then transfer into a pharmacy school. But I have recently discovered that there are 0-6 year pharmacy schools on the east coast that I can transfer into and am planning to apply to them.

The problem is what do I do in the mean time while I await a response from them? The community college I go to is a terrible learning environment and I had a bad experience with a couple of my teachers and thus I have been getting bad grades. So would it hurt my chances if I drop community college entirely and concentrate being a Pharmacy Technician while the Pharmacy schools look at my application? Would the argument that I am learning valuable information and experience working in a Pharmacy be a valid reason?

I know I can do well in Pharmacy school or any college. I had a 4.0 GPA my senior year of high school and took 5 AP courses straight and passed all of them with A's and got high marks on the AP exams (an A and a 5 for AP Bio). Will the people who look at my application for Pharmacy school consider that while they look at the one C in Biology from my community college as well as the Withdraw from my math course as well as the fact that I didn't go to community college and worked instead while I wait for their response on my application?

Amicable Angora

Lagomorpha
5+ Year Member
Oct 5, 2012
Status
Pharmacist
They will have questions about why you were so promising in high school and then struggled at community college.