Colored Hair, Tattoos, and Piercings

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

97thaik

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I've periodically looked up what the opinion is for colored hair, tattoos, and piercings were for the field of optometry and often fell short on my searches because most of them are discussing the nursing field or being an MD. They were also pretty dated and seemed to be written by people of older generations.

I thought this would be an interesting topic to discuss and see what other people may have to say, specifically for the field of optometry.

Currently, my hair is kind of pink/rose gold and I work as an ophthalmic technician/ optometric technician in two different practices. One retail and one private. Both places have no problem with my hair as it's not really out there as it seems by my description lol. I've only ever received compliments from my patients too and 99% of them are over the age of 60.

What do you guys think about maintaining a professional appearance (in societal standards) when it comes to optometry school interviews, working in practices, and eventually being a practicing O.D.? For interviews, do you think it matters if you go in with colored hair and visible tattoos or do you think you should re-dye your hair to a normal color and hide tattoos and piercings? Do you think appearance is something admissions committees consider and I don't mean coming to an interview in sweats, but coming professionally dressed but with bright red hair or a visible arm tattoo or multiple ear piercings/nose piercings?

If anyone here has colored hair, tattoos, piercings, etc. I would love to hear your take on this! Just generally curious what prospective students and future O.D. students think, especially with societal standards shifting.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
if you have to ask, or if it's controversial, then I would stay away from it in my opinion