Columbia vs. Yale MPH in Epidemiology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JJP05

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey,

I am an international student from Canada, and I got into Columbia (MPH in epidemiology )and Yale (MPH in Chronic disease dpi). It is so sad that I can not attend the open house because it conflicts with my exams... I am not sure which school I should attend :confused:
Any comments?
Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey JJP05,

I actually have the exact same decision to make =P (I'm Canadian too so random! Buttt I am an undergrad in an American uni). I'm planning to go to both admit days (I'm not sure when Columbia's is, but I'm going during my school's spring break which is the last week of March) because that is when Yale's admit day is.

I honestly feel 90% about Columbia because of my particular research/career goals. I'm a neuroscience major, and have a strong neuroscience research background and my goals for getting an MPH are to be able to do population based preventive studies with mental health. So for me, going to a school that has a lot of emphasis on mental health in the epidemiology department is really important. I also want more of a hands-on MPH experience, as much as I love doing research - I don't really want research intensive curriculum. I feel that Columbia's new curriculum is very unique in the amount of field/practical experience it will give us, whereas Yale is more research based.
You might also want to consider what schools have professors/faculty/affiliated centers doing the kind of research/projects you are particularly interested. Contact these people and see what opportunities they may have for you? I'm already in touch with a couple of professors at Mailman, and I'm really interested in their research/career paths so I think Columbia really is the best place for me.